Wednesday, September 7, 2011

First National Championships Nepal

Nepal's first national korfball championship, held from 4 - 6 September 2011, followed the success of the U16 national championship held in Nepal in January 2011.

The Korfball Federation of Nepal, the 58th member of the IKF, recently gained affiliation to the National Sports Council of Nepal. As korfball remains relatively little-known in Nepal, there was every incentive for the organisers to make the championships a success.
Nepal’s National Olympic Committee general secretary Jivanram Shrestha opened the championship, before the president of the Korfball Federation of Nepal, Pashupati Prasad Bhandari, outlined plans to develop korfball in Nepal. Nawaraj Paudel, vice-president of leading students union ANNFSU then spoke about the inclusivity of korfball and how easily it is to learn and Ashok Kumar expressed the Korfball Federation of India's support for the championship.

The championship was held at LRI School in front of a large crowd of supporters from different schools, who created an exciting atmosphere for every match, as well as optimism about the future of korfball in Nepal.

Seven teams participated, with the championship run in a two-group round robin format. The top teams from each group then played off for final and semi-final positions, with the remaining teams vying for fifth to seventh positions.

Ashok Kumar from India guest refereed the championship, along with three other referees, Dipesh Shrestha, Teklal Paudel and Keshav Babu Basnet.
At the closing ceremony the National Sports Council’s member secretary Youraj Lama was the chief guest. The cup, medals and certificates were presented by Youraj Lama, Pashupati Prasad Bhandari and Shiva Raj Panta.

The championship jury committee was led by Pashupati Prasad Bhandari and the organisation committee was led by Somraj Paneru, president of LRI Korfball Club.
The final rankings were as follows:
  1. LRI Korfball Club
  2. Loyalty Korfball Club
  3. Mount Glory Korfball Club
  4. LRI School
  5. Lumbini College Korfball Club
  6. Kumarigal Scout Open Unit
  7. Arambha Kapan Youth Club
Highest scorer - Bhawana Lama (Loyalty Korfball Club)
Best Player - Nikesh Rai (LRI Korfball Club)

More images: and