Thursday, February 3, 2011

IKF World Championship

During the recent International Korfball Federation Executive Committee meeting the IKF ExCo made a draw to establish the pools for the opening round of the IKF World Championship to be held from 27 October to 5 November 2011 in Shaoxing, China.

The 9th IKF World Championship is the most important korfball event in the IKF’s 2011 calendar.

The result of the draw is:

1The NetherlandsBelgiumChinese TaipeiCzech Republic
3PortugalSouth AfricaAustraliaChina
4IndiaHong KongPolandWales
The teams in line 1 of the pools were placed according to the current IKF Ranking. The other lines were then drawn with each set of four teams based on the current IKF Ranking. The only restriction made in the draw was that no two teams from Asia could be drawn in the same pool. Therefore, if a group of 4 teams had one or more Asian teams in it, then the Asian teams were drawn first into an available pool and the remaining teams in the group drawn afterwards.
The Netherlands is the current holder of the World Championship following the last championship held in Brno, Czech Republic in 2007. The complete booklet regarding the “History of the IKF World Championships” is available through the IKF website; by going to the tournaments tab.

The IKF will publish the match schedule for this 9th IKF World Championship before 25 February 2011.